The near perfect amalgamation.

Leave a comment

August 30, 2012 by kkeerr

I like to bake and I like beer and once in a while those two can combine in a glorious way.  As summer is nearly complete I will share a cupcake I made back in July.  It optimized summer – at least for a Michigander with a soft spot for brews from her hometown.

I didn’t set out looking for a cupcake using Michigan’s favorite summertime brew, initially I wanted to find a coffee cake recipe and then I thought, “I wonder if there is a whiskey (specifically Jameson) coffee cake recipe…” I never got that far though I got distracted by Guinness cupcakes like this one.  Not for me, Guinness is a no-no for me, but I like to bake for others too – I’m a giver.  Well I never followed through with the Guinness cupcakes either because I again got distracted this time by Blue Moon cupcakes.  I came across this recipe from spoonforkbacon.com and thought I could do that with Oberon.  I started on my baking/supply buying  journey (no Oberon on hand) and wondered if anyone else had made an Oberon cupcake.  A quick Googling and yes, yes they had.  I found this recipe on michiganbeerblog.net.  They seem identical, even down to the instructions word for word with the Blue Moon one being published a couple of month prior to the Oberon one.  “I don’t mean to be accusatory” (pretty sure that’s from a TV show or movie or something – Reno 911? …I digress) but be nice and credit your inspiration.  At any rate, the recipe is already in two places so I will just list the ingredients and show you the goods.

Ingredients:
Cupcakes:
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 2/3 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 orange, zested (plus more for garnish) “Ain’t nobody got time for that.”
2/3 cup Blue Moon, Oberon, or any wheat beer you prefer
2 tablespoons whole milk (I used half and half because I had it on hand)
Orange cream cheese frosting:
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
2 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice (or not)

 

I actually made two batches of cream cheese frosting because I didn’t think that much orange flavor was necessary – it overpowered the cupcake’s delicious beer flavor.  In fact many of the cupcakes were consumed without frosting at all.  They were just that delicious and moist.    I sent a picture text to a friend and was prompted to put a cap on it as the Michigan beer blog had done so I did. Luckily I save my beer caps and labels so despite buying a mini keg for this recipe (overkill?) I had a cap on hand.

As you can see my cupcakes are not nearly as pretty as the ones pictured in the before mentioned blogs, but as with most of my baked good what they lack in appearance they make up for in taste.

So there you have it, a Kalamazoo native’s perfect summer cupcake.

What I was drinking while baking:

Now some of you fellow Michiganders, transplants, and craft beer lovers might be saying that Oberon is overrated.  Fine, that’s valid and I would agree most of the time.  But can we agree that is a damn fetching label/packaging?

Leave a Reply

