Harmony Brewing Company [MiBA]

Leave a comment

November 4, 2012 by kkeerr


My good buddy Brae has tried to get me to go with her to Harmony for a while now so I finally “gave in.”  Austin, our remaining out-of-state friend, and I decided visit (with Brae) this past Tuesday.  I have heard so many good things about Harmony and I am a sucker for wood-fired pizza so I don’t know why it took me so long to get there.  I hadn’t seen any pictures of the place or even driven by and the image I had in my mind turned out to be way wrong.  This is not a bad thing.  I had imagined that the place was going to be large, but it was quite small.  I guess I assumed it would be a large because I had heard so many people talk about it.  (Did I think they were all in there at once?)  I also thought it was going to be a bit pretentious, thankfully it was not.   The place was far from a dive, just more of a neighborhood pizza place/bar.   Thinking is was pretentious came from everyone saying how good the food is but with the caveat that it was expensive.  So I guess for me, expense = pretentiousness?  I didn’t think the prices were bad, especially since one of their pizzas easily feeds two people.  It is around $13 for many of their pizzas so that is the same if not cheaper than Austin and I going to get burgers from another restaurant.  While my image of the place was incorrect, I was pleasantly surprised.
Pizzas and beer were had by all.  We ordered a cheese (only $5 on Tuesdays), the Crispy Pig (pepperoni, ham, prosciutto, fresh motz, and ye olde fresh basil), and the Good Earth (spinach, mushrooms, caramelized onions, jarlsberg cheese, balsamic, and fresh basil).  I can only speak to the Good Earth, but it was very good – however despite the number of toppings it was sparse.
For brews we partook 4 of their 8 beers on tap – the Bronsen Brown, Jackson’s Joy,  Golden Lion Tamarin, and the cross roads ryePA.  I enjoyed each of these but the Bronson was my favorite.
I am looking forward to visiting again. I don’t know that I will ever go on the weekend, it seems like it would get crowded fast, but I would like more pizza and a growler of Bronson to go.  Also, Harmony just won the Grand Award at the Neighborhood Business Awards for Grand Rapids.

Just the facts ma’am:
Harmony Brewing Company
Location:  1551 Live SE, Grand Rapids, MI
Established: 2012
Type: PIZZA! (is that a type?)
Number of Taps: 8
Austin’s Overall Experience Rating: 4 out of 5 Pint Glasses

Leave a Reply

