Thanksgiving Recap

Leave a comment

November 24, 2012 by kkeerr

Now that everyone has had the opportunity to conceive and birth their food babies it is time for the Post-Thanksgiving Post.  Our Thanksgiving was great, there wasn’t much that could have improved it.  We had not a single catastrophe, nothing was ruined during the cooking process or dropped as it was coming out of the oven.  The food was ample and very tasty; nut cups (a small tradition in Austin’s family – my mom’s take on adding the nut cups to our table, “Hey we outta have more tradition than dick and fart jokes but lets put it in shot glasses.”), ham/ham rolls, deviled eggs, green bean casserole, beans, squash, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, rolls, cranberry sauces, turkey/turkey, and three kinds of pies.
This was my first year making a turkey so I was a bit nervous but I did my research and settled on Alton Brown’s Good Eats Turkey/Brine method and then proceeded to watch YouTube videos on how to prepare and roast a turkey.  It ended up not being all that difficult once I was sure I knew what I was doing.  The turkey smelled good and I am told it tasted good.  I think we will probably prepare it this way again next year.

I also made cranberry sauce for the first time this year.  It was delicious!  A co-worker gave me her Aunt’s old recipes and it is the only cranberry sauce recipe I think we will need.  It was simple and is tasting great days later on leftover rolls.

The pies I made also turned out nice.  I decided on a triple chocolate pumpkin but ended up not caring much for it which has more (everything) to do with my aversion to dark chocolate than it does with the recipe or execution.  The rum raisin pie that I didn’t think I would care for because it was a custard rum raisin and not a rum sauce was actually pretty good.  The pecan pie was also very good – my favorite of the three. Although I need to be careful when I make it again (my brother has already requested another, he says for more accurate assessment and science that he will need more pie) because I cooked the pie about 15 fewer minutes than the recipe stated to and it looked a bit over done.  Thankfully, it didn’t taste over done.  Also, 3 cups of pecan halves in a pie is a lot of effin’ nuts.

The rum raisin wasn’t quiet that neon in real life

My mom doesn’t half-ass anything so we cooked and prepped and cleaned our mess as we went along.  A necessary step as our dining area is in our kitchen.  After we ate my mom got right to cleaning (doing it as my house also means no dishwasher).  It didn’t take long and it meant that I would have nothing to clean on Friday.  We chatted while she finished getting the turkey meat off Hank’s carcass (yeah the turkey’s name was Hank) and I drank wine straight from the bottle.  It was a good day.

Yesterday was spent in a cycle or eating, dozing, and watching tv.  Another good day.

Today, in case we haven’t eaten enough this weekend I am going to make the pumpkin butter I never got around to on Thursday and we are going to lunch with my parents.  Then, we will be watching football tonight.  I may make jalapeño popper or some beer cheese dip because…well why not.  However, today will only be a good day if Notre Dame beats USC, otherwise it will be a terrible, dark day.  Don’t ruin my holiday weekend Notre Dame, don’t you dare do it.

I will leave you with Penny.  She stares hoping that I will put down the tablet and we will nap again.

Leave a Reply

