Christmas Cookies

Leave a comment

December 15, 2012 by kkeerr

I’ve felt like crap basically this entire week. I was hoping to feel better today and do some holiday baking, but not only to I not feel like taking my sadness pants off and heading to Meijer for a few necessary ingredients but no one wants to take baked goods from a sick person.  What’s my secret ingredient?  Is it pertussis?  You’ll find out in 7 to 10 days.

I do not have pertussis.

I can’t/shouldn’t bake, but I can prepare.  I am only giving to my neighbor and family (and a container or two may make it out to Utah) so I may have done a bit overboard in the list I want to make.
Sugar Cookies
Molasses Cookies
Cocoa-Coffee Cookies
Whiskey Salted Caramels
Maybe some Meringue Kisses, but maybe not because they take hours.
Peppermint Cream Bites
Peanut Butter Cookies
Spritz
Thumbprint
Gingerbread cookies
and the ever important fudge.
Yeah…that list needs to be cut down.

I have dug through the recipes and cookbooks that my grandma gave me that once belonged to my aunt hoping to find her fudge recipes.  She made the best fudge.  My Aunt passed away in October of 2000 – that means that there have been 12 Christmases without her or her fudge.  I can’t bring her back, but I can attempt to bring her fudge back and prevent 2012 from being our 13th fudge-less holiday.  If I believed in an afterlife this fudge would be séance worthy.  Time is working both against me and for me.  12 years later it is difficult to track down the exact recipes she used.  Not everything of hers was kept and what was kept has been shuffled between two houses.  However, 12 years later people might not be able to tell that my fudge is nowhere near as good as my Aunt’s (this is just wishful thinking on my part).
I am starting with these two recipes:
20121215_122847
I don’t remember my Aunt having nuts in her fudge (I don’t really like nuts in my desserts so I may have just never had it if she did) but we are going to try it without the nuts to see if it is her chocolate fudge.  I have yet to find a recipe in her stash for peanut butter fudge, which was my favorite, but I will continue the hunt.

I also need to attempt to make some sugar-free eggnog per my dad’s request.  I’ve bookmarked recipes (1, 2, 3, and others).  They are all pretty similar and I have my doubts that any of them will produce what my dad is looking for.

Here’s to feeling better soon so that I can get something done before the holidays come and go.

Leave a Reply

